faculty & staff

Dedicated, passionate, and curious, RHCD’s faculty and staff are committed to helping each student explore their strengths, passions, and academic interests.  

ALL FACULTY & STAFF

Maria Abregu

Upper School Spanish
BS, Mississippi State University
D, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
mabregu@rockyhill.org

Whitney Barker

Academic Center for Enrichment
BA, Gettysburg College
wbarker@rockyhill.org

Cherie Baccari

Extended Day Program
Certificate, Crisis
Prevention Institute
Certificate, Community
College of Rhode Island
cbaccari@rockyhill.org

Katy Basu

Upper School Chemistry, Yearbook Coordinator
AB, Cornell University
PhD, University of Illinois
kbasu@rockyhill.org

George Briggs

Upper School English
BA, Dartmouth College
MA, Wesleyan University
gbriggs@rockyhill.org

ELAINE COSTA BERNARDINO

LS World Languages and Cultures Instructor/ Languages Department Chair
BA, University of Londrina
MBA, Getting Vargas Foundation
ebernardino@rockyhill.org

Charlotte Buecheler

Upper School English
MS, HEC Paris
MA, ABD, Brown University
cbuecheler@rockyhill.org

Joshua Carr

Director of Plant Operations
jcarr@rockyhill.org

David Carter

Plant Operations
dcarter@rockyhill.org

Karah Chartrand

Middle School Science
BS, University of Rhode Island
MAT, Western Governors University
kchartrand@rockyhill.org

Michael Chatterley

Upper School Ceramics
BFA, Rhode Island College
mchatterley@rockyhill.org

Jody Cicchese

Middle School Social
Science & English, Coach
BA, Providence College
M.Ed, Rhode Island College
jcicchese@rockyhill.org

Christine Comeau

Upper School Science
and Biology
BS, University of New England
MS, University of Rhode Island
ccomeau@rockyhill.org

Theresa Conroy

Middle School Math, Coach
BS, Cleveland State University
M.Ed, Bowling Green University
tconroy@rockyhill.org

Jan Cooney

Director of Admission and
Financial Assistance
BS, Syracuse University
M.Ed, Lesley University
jcooney@rockyhill.org
ext. 104

Holly Cotta

Director of Academic
Center for Enrichment
BA, University of Rhode Island
MA, University of Rhode Island
hcotta@rockyhill.org
ext. 108

Julie Cox

Strings Instructor
BS, Rhode Island College
jcox@rockyhill.org

Stephanie Cruff

Second Grade
BFA, University of Rhode Island
M.Ed, University of New Haven
scruff@rockyhill.org

Martha Cunningham

Chief Operating Officer
BA, University of Maryland
MDE, University of Maryland
mcunningham@rockyhill.org
ext. 222

Helen Dembinski

Academic Center for Enrichment
BA, University of Vermont
MA, CUNY- Brooklyn College
hdembinski@rockyhill.org

Tara Dowling

Director of College Counseling
BA, Boston University
tdowling@rockyhill.org
ext. 120

Trixie Dumas ’81

Lower School Art Coordinator, Lower School Math, Coach
Cert. in Architecture, RISD
BFA, Wheaton College
tdumas@rockyhill.org

Susan Eaton

Upper School Math,
Community Service Coordinator
BS, Bentley University
seaton@rockyhill.org

Art Entwistle IV

Assistant Athletic Director,
Athletic Trainer
BS, Lyndon State College
M.Ed, Plymouth State College
aentwistle@rockyhill.org

Traci Fairchild

Director of Counseling
and Wellness
BA, University of Maine
MSW, Rhode Island College
tfairchild@rockyhill.org

Amadeus Finlay

Communications
and Media Editor
MA, University of Edinburgh
afinlay@rockyhill.org
ext. 148

Shirlee Fleet

Susan Fonseca Lanham

Global Impact Advisor,
Director of Communications
BA, University of Georgia
J.D. Samford University,
Cumberland School of Law
sfonseca@rockyhill.org

Wayne Fougere

Plant Operations
wfougere@rockyhill.org

Meg Getsinger

Visual Arts Department Chair,
Upper School Art
BA, St. Lawrence University
MA, New York University
mgetsinger@rockyhill.org

Matt Gnolfo

Middle/Upper School Latin,
Coordinator of Diversity
BA, Vassar College
MA, Columbia University
mgnolfo@rockyhill.org

Lisa Goulden

Divisional Coordinator
and Registrar
lgoulden@rockyhill.org

Ian Green

Humanities Department Chair,
Upper School Social Studies
BA and MA, New York University
Ph.D., City University
of New York
igreen@rockyhill.org

Tim Greenwood

Middle School History & Government, Coach
BA, Hamilton College
tgreenwood@rockyhill.org

Wendy Gustavel

School Librarian
BA, College of the Holy Cross
M.Ed, University of New Hampshire
wgustavel@rockyhill.org
ext. 149

AQUILA HARPER

Upper School Community Curriculum Teacher
BA, American University
aharper@rockyhill.org

Kurt Heise

Upper School Social Studies, Coach
BA, Carleton College
kheise@rockyhill.org
ext. 184

James Himmelmann

Music & Choral Teacher
BM, University of Rhode Island
MM, University of Rhode Island
jhimmelmann@rockyhill.org
ext. 193

Andrew Hoffman-Patalona

Upper School Science, Robotics
BA, Bard College
MAT, Bard College

Amanda Hovey

Upper & Middle School Art
BA, Austin College
ahovey@rockyhill.org

Hannah Hudson

Middle/Upper School French
BA, Middlebury College
hhudson@rockyhill.org

Michael Jedrey

Middle School Division Head
BA, Amherst College
MAT, Tufts University
mjedrey@rockyhill.org
ext. 128

Natalie Joseph

Third Grade
BA, University of Rhode Island
M.Ed, University of Rhode Island
njoseph@rockyhill.org

Joseph Karr

Middle School Science
BA, Green Mountain College
M.Ed, Endicott College
jkarr@rockyhill.org

Bridget Keane

Middle School English
BA, University of New Hampshire, English & Journalism
MA, University of Rhode Island, Secondary Education & Middle School Endorsement
bkeane@rockyhill.org

CHRISTINE La MAKE

Staff Accountant
clamake@rockyhill.org

Bill Langlois

Bus Driver
AD, Bryant University
blanglois@rockyhill.org

Amy Laurent

Academic Center for Enrichment
BA, Boston College
M.Ed, Boston College
alaurent@rockyhill.org

Charlie Laurent

Fourth Grade
BFA, Emerson College
M.Ed, Boston College
claurent@rockyhill.org

Michael Lawson

Data and Facilities Coordinator
AAS, Community College of Rhode Island
mlawson@rockyhill.org
ext. 171

Ashley Lee

First Grade
BA, Texas Tech University
alee@rockyhill.org

Robert Lee

Upper School Social Sciences
BA and MBA, Cornell University
MA, University of Rhode Island
rlee@rockyhill.org

Caitlin MacDonald

Fifth Grade, RHEA Director
BA, BS, University of
Rhode Island
M.Ed, Boston University
cmacdonald@rockyhill.org

Pam Matson

Science Department Chair,
Upper School Science
BS, St. Lawrence University
pmatson@rockyhill.org

EMILY McMAHON

Kindergarten
BA, University of Rhode Island
MA Psychology, Adelphi University
M.A.T. Elementary Education,
Rhode Island College
emcmahon@rockyhill.org

PATRICIA McLAUGHLIN

Interim Assistant Head of School
for Advancement
BA, Providence College
JD, George Washington University, National Law Center
pmclaughlin@rockyhill.org
ext. 129

JACK McNAMARA

Middle/Upper School
Band Director
BM, University of Rhode Island
MM, Boston Conservatory
of Music
jmcnamara@rockyhill.org

KATY McNAMARA

School Nurse
BA, St. Lawrence University
MS, Antioch New England
ADN, Community College
of Rhode Island
kmcnamara@rockyhill.org

Kristin Mitchell ’02

Admission Associate
BS, Salve Regina University
kmitchell@rockyhill.org

Patty Mott

Head Preschool Teacher
AS, Community College
of Rhode Island
BS, Western Governors University
MS ECS, Walden University
pmott@rockyhill.org

CHRIS NORRIS-LeBLANC

Upper School Math
BA, Brown University
cnorrisleblanc@rockyhill.org

Patty Pontarelli

Lower School Division Head
BA, Rhode Island College
MA, Catholic University
of America
ppontarelli@rockyhill.org
ext. 116

Diane Rich

Head of School
BA, Boston College
Ed.M., Harvard Graduate
School of Education
drich@rockyhill.org
ext. 192

Eléna Rich

Dean of Student Life,
Upper School French
MA, University Francois Rabelais
Ed.M., Harvard Graduate
School of Education
erich@rockyhill.org

Joshua Schatz

Mathematics Department Chair,
Upper School Math, Coach
BA, Smith College
MA, New York University
jschatz@rockyhill.org

Dan Shaker

Technology Support Specialist
dshaker@rockyhill.org
ext. 242

Ming Shen

Coordinator of International Programs, Upper School Mandarin
BA, Beijing Normal University
M.Ed, Rhode Island College
mshen@rockyhill.org

Anna Slaybaugh

Upper School Mathematics
BS, University of Rhode Island
aslaybaugh@rockyhill.org

Belinda Snyman

Upper School English
BA/HTD, Capetown Teachers College, South Africa
bsnyman@rockyhill.org

Meg Stowe

Director of Innovation
BS, Denison University
M.Ed, Lesley University
mstowe@rockyhill.org
ext. 182

Iveth Streisand

Middle/Upper School Spanish
BA, Rutgers University
MAT, Roger Williams University
istreisand@rockyhill.org

Dawn Temple

Upper School Photography
BS Art, Rhode Island College
dtemple@rockyhill.org

Sean Tucker

Lower School Physical and
Health Education
BS, Salisbury University
MS, McDaniel College
stucker@rockyhill.org

Ariana Viola

Middle/Upper School Math
BA, Rhode Island College
aviola@rockyhill.org

Missy Walker

Associate Director
of Development
BS, Syracuse University
mwalker@rockyhill.org
ext. 296

Brady Wheatley

Upper School Division Head
BA, Brandeis University
MEd, University of Massachusetts
bwheatley@rockyhill.org
ext. 130

Megan Williams

Director of Athletics
BA, Bryn Mawr College
MS, Ohio University
mwilliams@rockyhill.org
ext. 188

Eric Wyzga

Lower School Science
BS, Springfield College
ewyzga@rockyhill.org

CONTACT US

If you have any questions, or would like to know more about Rocky Hill Country Day School, please fill out the form below.

Rocky Hill Country Day School

530 Ives Road
East Greenwich, RI 02818

Phone: 401.884.9070
Fax: 401.885.4985